Astrophotography With a Mirrorless Camera and Vintage Lenses

Paul Gana
2 min readJan 15, 2021

--

Orion Nebula and Running Man Nebula taken with the Sony A6000 and the Sony 55–210mm crop sensor lens. 45 minute exposure equivalent at 800 ISO. I had issues with batteries for the tracker due to extreme cold temperatures so each exposure ended up being shorter and shorter to avoid star trailing. The first exposure was 3 minutes and each one after that ended up being shorter ending up with only 30 seconds.

Photos below were taken with the Yashika 135mm F2.8 lens except for the Orion Nebula which was taken with the Pentax 70–210 @F11. All the vintage lenses I use are adapted to the Sony E mount for both my A6000 and A7R2. One of the incredible advantages of shooting with Sony mirrorless. All these photos are taken with my cameras and stacked in DeepSkyStacker software. The number of photos and lengths of each exposure varies depending on the camera, aperture, focal length and whether I was tracking or not. The star tracker I use is the Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer Pro Pack, but even a star tracker is not needed to get good photos of deep space objects. The Comet Neowise was taken with just the A6000 on a tripod after walking only a couple of blocks from my house. Proof you don’t need to spend thousands of dollars to get amazing images of the universe

The Core of the Milky Way with the prominent Lagoon Nebula (purple cloud) Sony A7R2 and Yashika 135mm F2.8. No tracking was involved in this photo
Comet Neowise
Rho Ophiuchi, massive stellar nursery only 350 light-years away. One of my first attempts at this region with my A6000 camera and Yashika 135mm lens, only a 15 minute exposure equivalent. Looking forward to this coming Milky Way season again to improve on my imaging of this incredibly colorful region
The Orion sword and belt region with the famous Orion Nebula, and Running Man Nebula in the sword area. The very faint Horse Head Nebula and Flame Nebula in the belt region (upper left). This was with the A7R2 and the Pentax 70–210 lens and total equivalent exposure of only 20 minutes. Only my second attempt with this set up to image the Orion belt region

--

--